Read through the past for a better future!

Hot Numbers

The South Dakota Lottery was established in 1986 and was authorized in 1987. Soon after joining the Multi-State Lottery Association (MUSL) the South Dakota Lottery sold the first Lotto America lottery ticket in November 1990, which was replaced by Powerball in April 1992. The revenue generated by the lottery is allocated to fund Education, Natural Resources, and responsible gaming. In April 1993, the South Dakota Lottery introduced its very own cash lotto game, known as the Dakota Cash. On August 28, 2016, Dakota Cash started drawing with the option of EZ Match. Since the Lottery’s inception, it has been producing innumerable lottery winners!

Winning with us is not just anything, it’s everything for us!

About The Commission

The South Dakota Lottery Commission is a five-member board appointed by the Governor. It establishes the policies pertaining to the working of the lottery and advises on the operation of the South Dakota Lottery, including approval of any major procurement by the lottery. The members of the commission are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate of the state. The term for each commissioner is three years and the chairman is chosen annually in the first meeting of the fiscal year. The commission is liable to meet at least once each quarter. Emergency meetings can be called by the chairman upon the request of the Executive Director or any of the three commission members.

South Dakota State Lottery Beneficiaries

Proceeds from Lottery ticket sales and unclaimed prizes go back to the community for -State General Fund

South Dakota State Lottery Contact Information

711 E. Wells Ave
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: (605) 773-5770
Fax: (605) 773-5786
Email: [email protected]

Get Started Today


Looking to gain an edge on lotteries? Let us help you with statistics and data-driven information! Get inside information at your fingertips today!

Try it for Free